Organization of American Historians Awards

The Organization of American Historians sponsors or cosponsors awards, prizes, fellowships and grants given in recognition of scholarly and professional achievements in the field of American history. The awards and prizes are presented during the OAH Annual Meeting. For more information, visit This year’s graduate student awards are:


Huggins-Quarles Award
Deadline: November 1, 2021
For graduate students of color to assist with research expenses for the completion of a PhD dissertation–the award is named for Benjamin Quarles and Nathan Huggins, two outstanding historians of the African American past.
John D’Emilio LGBTQ History Dissertation Award
Deadline: October 1, 2021
For the best PhD dissertation in U.S. LGBTQ history–the award is named for John D’Emilio, pioneer in LGBTQ history.
John Higham Research Fellowship
Deadline: November 1, 2021
For all graduate students writing doctoral dissertations for a PhD in American history–the grants are given in memory of John Higham, an important figure in immigration, ethnic, and intellectual history. Topics most closely related to Higham’s field of expertise will receive special consideration.
Lerner-Scott Prize
Deadline: October 1, 2021
For the best doctoral dissertation in U.S. women’s history–the prize is named for Gerda Lerner and Anne Firor Scott, both pioneers in women’s history.
Louis Pelzer Memorial Award
Deadline: November 1, 2021
For the best essay in American history by a graduate student, the award honors Louis Pelzer, editor of the Mississippi Valley Historical Review, 1941–1946, and includes publication in the Journal of American History.


Need help with the Commons? Visit our
help page
Send us a message