The Ph.D. Program in History

at the Graduate Center of the City University of New York

GC EventsHistory Program Events

April 3 – Cindy Lobel will be recognized at the 2019 GC Alumni Awards Ceremony

We recognize the tremendous talents of our scholarly community with the prestigious Graduate Center Alumni Awards. Please help us celebrate our honorees by joining us here at The Graduate Center on Wednesday, April 3, 2019 at 6:00pm in the William P Kelly Skylight Room! RSVP to Thank you to all who nominated alumni!


2019 Alumni of the Year Award recipients:

  • James Giordano (Ph.D. ’87, Psychology – Biopsychology), Chief of the Neuroethics Studies Program and Scholar-in-Residence in the Pellegrino Center for Clinical Bioethics; Professor in the Departments of Neurology and Biochemistry at Georgetown University Medical Center
  • Maggie Nelson (Ph.D. ’04, English), Poet, critic, and nonfiction writer; Professor of English, University of Southern California

2019 Graduate of the Last Decade Award (GOLD) recipients:

  • Amy E. Hughes (Ph.D. ’09, Theatre), Associate Professor, Theater History & Criticism, Brooklyn College
  • Nandini Sikand (Ph.D. ’10, Anthropology), Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies, Lafayette College

2019 City University of New York (CUNY) Award:

  • Ardie Walser (Ph.D. ’91, Engineering – Electrical), Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor, Electrical Engineering, Grove School of Engineering, The City College of New York
  • Cindy R. Lobel (Ph.D. ’03, History) Posthumous Award, Former Assistant Professor of History, Lehman College; and Former Professor, Liberal Studies, The Graduate Center and Macaulay Honors College

GC Alumni Award Committee Members

  • Bruce Altschuler (Ph.D. 1981, Political Science)
  • Herman Berliner (Ph.D. 1970, Economics)
  • Kristopher Burrell (Ph.D. 2011, History)
  • Peter V. Cobb (Ph. D. 1972, Mathematics)
  • Margaret Connors McQuade (Ph.D. 2005, Art History)
  • Chirag Raval (Ph.D. 2012, Biomedical Engineering)
  • Caroline Urvater (Ph.D. 2016, Comparative Literature; M.A. 1990, Comparative Literature)