The Ph.D. Program in History

at the Graduate Center of the City University of New York


Sean Robertson wins 2016 New York State History Teacher of the Year

The National History Teacher of the Year Award recognizes outstanding K–12 American history teachers across the country.

  • National Winner receives a $10,000 prize presented at an award ceremony in their honor in New York City.
  • State winners receive a $1,000 prize and an archive of classroom resources.

Since 2004,  the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History has selected a State Teacher of the Year from among the nominated teachers. We are delighted to acknowledge that Sean Enos Robertson, a member of the Fall 2016 incoming cohort of the PhD Program in History, has won 2016 New York State History Teacher of the Year. Congratulations!