The Ph.D. Program in History

at the Graduate Center of the City University of New York


History PhD student seeks roommate

Hello Historians!

I’m looking for a new roommate for my sunny, spacious apartment in Bed-Stuy, Brooklyn. If you’re looking or know of anyone who is, please send them my way. I’m looking to fill the room as soon as I can find the right person.

The Neighborhood: 
The apartment is in the heart of Bed-Stuy, which is a fascinating neighborhood that’s up-and-coming while at the same time has a true sense of community. I know my neighbors and sit out on the stoop talking with them in nice weather. It’s an 8 block walk from the C train at Kingston-Throop (one stop after Nostrand Ave, and a 15 min walk from Nostrand.)

There are plentiful laundromats a block away in every direction, a coffee shop on both Tompkins and Throop, a fancy bar and a wine store on Tompkins, a yoga studio a block away, nice restaurants and Jerk Chicken places. The B43 bus (on the corner) will take you North to Greenpoint or South to the Park. The B26 on Halsey (2 blocks away) will take you to Clinton Hill and Downtown Brooklyn.

The Apartment: The apartment is the full top (3rd) floor of a brownstone. It’s been renovated nicely, and recently, but not gut renovated so if you’re looking for a sparkly new apartment, this isn’t the place. My landlady’s great; her granddaughter lives in the basement. She’s been extremely responsive and accommodating. I made a video tour, below.

The Room: It’s a smallish room, 5’11” by 11’5.” It will fit a full sized bed and a dresser easily and it has its own closet and a big window that gets direct morning sunshine. The view is a tree and a brownstone out on Jefferson Ave. The rent is $775/month plus utilities (Electric, Gas, and Internet)

Your Roomate:
I’m in my late 20s, a Graduate Student working on a PhD in US History, a professor at John Jay College and also a tour guide and researcher at several sites around the city.

I’ve been living in Brooklyn for eight years, though only in this apartment since August. I was looking for a 1 bd but fell in love with this 2 bdr.  I’ve been sub-letting the extra room on a short-term basis but am now looking for someone to stay until the end of the lease (August 26) with the option to join the lease starting then.


I have pictures and a video tour I can share if folks are interested. Reach me at