2019 Student and Alumni Accomplishments

Congratulations to our students and alumni on their recent accomplishments!

Arinn Amer won the $500 Koonja Mitchell Memorial Prize awarded by the Women’s Studies Certificate Program and has been awarded the $20,000 E.P. Thompson Dissertation Fellowship.

Andrew Alger has a forthcoming article, “Homes for the Poor? Public Housing and the Social Construction of Space in Baghdad, 1945 – 1964,” in the Journal of Urban History and has been awarded a fellowship from The Academic Research Institute in Iraq (TARII) to pursue archival research this summer in Beirut.

Paula C. Austin (PhD, 2015) is now Assistant Professor in the Departments of History and African American Studies at Boston University.

Arman Azimi has been awarded a $25,000 Dissertation Year Fellowship

Vanessa Burrows (PhD, 2015), now an historian at the FDA in DC, just coauthored an article which appears in the current issue of the JAH, “Creating Equal Health Opportunity: How the Medical Civil Rights Movement and the Johnson Administration Desegregated U.S.. Hospitals.”

Lukasz Chelminski was awarded a 2019  Association for Slavic, East European, & Eurasian Studies Graduate Student Travel Grant for the November convention in San Francisco.

Davide Giuseppe Colasanto has been awarded a $10,000 Dissertation Year Fellowship., and won the $2,500 John M. Cammett Travel Award. In addition, he contributed a chapter to the newly published book Regimes of Happiness: Comparative and Historical Studies.

Edward Cornejo (PhD, 2010) has been named Interim Associate Dean of Arts, Humanities, Communications & Design at Broward College’s South Campus (Fort Lauderdale).

Nicholas Cross (PhD, 2016) has taken a position at the Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy.

Erin Cully has been awarded a $4000 Fellowship in Interdisciplinary Research in the Service of Public Knowledge Doctoral Student Research Grant, and a $25,0000 Altman Foundation Dissertation Fellowship

Phelim Dolan has been awarded a $25,000 Leon Levy Center for Biography Dissertation Fellowship

Mohammed Ezzeldin has been awarded a $25,000 Dissertation Year Fellowship.

Krystle Farman Sweda (PhD, 2019) is currently a Proposal Development Officer at the University of Kentucky.

Evan Friss (PhD, 2011) is the co-organizer of the exhibit Cycling in the City at the Museum of the City of New York, which was reviewed in the  NY Times.

David Hamilton Golland (PhD, 2008) published A Terrible Thing to Waste: Arthur Fletcher and the Conundrum of the Black Republican (Lawrence: University Press of Kansas, 2019).

Hilary Anne Hallett (PhD, 2005) has been promoted to Associate Professor with tenure at Columbia University.

Jiwon Han has been awarded a $4000 Early Research Initiative (ERI) Provost’s Pre-Dissertation Research Fellowship

Jonathan Hill Jr. (PhD, 2018) has been appointed as an Excelsior Fellow to the Division of Policy and Planning at the NYS Department of Transportation in Albany.

Megan Hills contributed a chapter to the newly published book Regimes of Happiness: Comparative and Historical Studies.

Ernest Ialongo (PhD, 2009) was promoted to Full Professor at Hostos Community College.

Mounira Keghida has had her AHA  session proposal accepted for the upcoming 2020 conference, which will be held here in NYC. The title of the session is “Sugar Visionaries, Bitter Realities: The story of Anti-Colonialists,  Industrialists and Abolitionists in the 19th Century.”

Phil Keisman  had an article published in QUEST, Issue in Contemporary Jewish History, Issue 14, 2019 –  “I see a man of great wisdom… and in his hand is a nimble scribe’s pen.” The Readers and Writers of Shomer Tziyon Hane’eman

Kathryn Kelley has been awarded a $4000 Early Research Initiative Provost’s Pre-Dissertation Research Fellowship

Andrew Kotick has been awarded a $10,000 Dissertation Year Fellowship.

Miriam Liebman has been awarded the $25,000 Judith Stein Dissertation Fellowship, and the Marc Friedlaender Fellowship (a short term residential fellowship, at Massachusetts Historical Society). For 2019-2020, she is the Gardiner archival dissertation fellow at the Institute for Thomas Paine Studies at Iona College.

Sarah Litvin (PhD, 2019) began a full-time job as Director of the Reher Center for Immigrant Culture and History in Kingston, New York.

Kathryn Mahaney (PhD, 2018) has accepted a three-year position as Postdoctoral Researcher at the University of Helsinki, starting in August 2019.

Paul Polgar (PhD, 2013) has published a new book, Standard-Bearers of Equality: America’s First Abolition Movement.

Carol Quirke (PhD, 2005) been promoted to full professor at SUNY College at Old Westbury.  Her second book, Dorothea Lange, Documentary Photography, and Twentieth Century America was published in March by Routledge (part of Carol Berkin’s “Lives of American Women” series).

Evan Turiano has been awarded a $4000 Early Research Initiative Award for Archival Research in African American and African Diaspora Studies.

Katie Uva is the PhD Program in History nominee for the Award for Doctoral Student Teaching.

Alisa Wade (PhD, 2016) has accepted a tenure track assistant professor position at California State University at Chico, starting in Fall 2019.

Erik Wallenberg has been awarded a $10,000 Dissertation Year Fellowship and the $7,000 National Society of Colonial Dames in New York Dissertation Fellowship.

John C. Winters won a Residential Research Fellowship at the Fred W. Smith Library at George Washington’s Mount Vernon.

Need help with the Commons? Visit our
help page
Send us a message